فريقنا

الباحثة والمحقّقة الرئيسية - موقع كيبيك/كندا

روكسان كارون

روكسان كارون؛ عاملة اجتماعيّة بالتدريب، وحالياً أستاذة مشاركة في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال. لديها خبرة واسعة في التطبيق والبحث في كلّ من كيبيك ولبنان، وأيضاً لديها خبرة نظرية في القضايا المتعلّقة باللاجئين والهجرة من منظور عابر للحدود. يركّز عملها بشكل أساسي على واقع اللاجئات، والحياة في مخيّمات اللجوء، والنفي المديد. قادت العديد من المشاريع البحثية التي شملت لبنان وكندا، وهدفت إلى فهم - من منظور عابر للحدود وتقاطعي - مسارات هجرة اللاجئين السوريين والذين استقرّوا في كندا (كيبيك) ولبنان.

الكلمات المفتاحية: المرأة، النسوية العابرة للحدود، النسوية المناهضة للاستعمار، التقاطعية، النفي المديد، مخيّم اللجوء.

الباحثة والمحقّقة الرئيسية - موقع لبنان

لينا أبو حبيب
Lina Abou-Habib is the Director of the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship at the American University of Beirut as well as the Gender project Director of the MEPI-TLS program at AUB. She is a feminist activist and researcher with a long career working with local, regional, and international institutions including the Royal Tropical Institute on gender mainstreaming and feminist activism. She has designed, implemented, and led multi-year gender equality initiatives including training, research, and community actions, and served on many local and international boards including AWID where she served as the Board Secretary and Chair from 2008 to 2012.  Abou-Habib is a member of the editorial committee of the Gender and Development journal and serves on the Board of Haven for Artists.  She also designs and teaches a number of undergraduate gender courses at AUB.

الكلمات المفتاحية: المواطنة الفاعلة؛ المشاركة السياسية للمرأة ؛ عمل رعاية غير مرئي النساء المهاجرات واللاجئات في لبنان ما بعد الحرب

المنسقّات

منسّقة المشاريع والمنسّقة المحلّية - موقع كيبيك/ كندا

ميريام ريتشارد
ميريام؛ طالبة دكتوراه في كليّة الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال. تدرّبت في التاريخ والدراسات الحضرية والجغرافيا والعمل الاجتماعي. خلال السنوات الـ12 الأخيرة، انخرطت في البحث والتدريب على المواضيع المرتبطة بالهجرة واللجوء، كما عملت في الخدمة الاجتماعية والمجتمعية. تهدف أعمالها إلى الدفاع عن حقوق المهاجرين/ات واللاجئين/ات من خلال فهم تجارب حياة أسر اللاجئين عبر الحدود بشكل أفضل، وأيضاً الدفاع عن حقوق العاملين/ات الاجتماعيين/ات الذين واللواتي يدعمون اللاجئين/ات والمهاجرين/ات. تحاول بناء جسور بين البحث والتدخل الاجتماعي والمجتمعي، من خلال تعبئة دراسات الأسرة النقدية والنسوية العابرة للحدود عبر الطرق السردية والتعاونية. قادتها خبراتها الشخصية والمهنية إلى الارتباط بالحدود الكندية والأميركية والروسية واللبنانية.

الكلمات المفتاحيةأسر اللاجئين العابرة للحدود، تفكّك الأسر ولمّ الشمل، التدخل الاجتماعي والمجتمعي، الدراسات النقدية النسوية عن الأسرة، الطرق السردية والتعاونية.

المنسّقة المحلّية - موقع لبنان

كارلا عقيل
كارلا عقيل؛ باحثة ومنسّقة مشاريع في معهد الأصفري للمجتمع المدني والمواطنة في الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت. لديها خبرة واسعة في مناصرة المساواة الجندرية، بما فيها تطوير وتنفيذ الحملات على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي فضلاً عن تنظيم وإدارة الندوات الإلكترونية. تركّز أعمالها البحثية على حقوق المرأة والمساواة الجندرية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، بما فيها سرديات التمويل النسوية والتحيزية. كارلا حائزة على إجازة الفنون في علم النفس من الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت

الكلمات المفتاحية: الجندر، النسوية، تمكين النساء، العنف الجنسي والجندري

الباحثون/ات والمتعاونون/ات

أمل دميان – باحثة مشاركة (لبنان)

أمل م. دميان؛ محاضرة في الكلية اللبنانية للتربية الاجتماعية في جامعة القديس يوسف في بيروت، وتعمل منذ سنوات عديدة على قضايا اللاجئات في لبنان. عملت منسّقة لبرنامج تدريبي على الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي من العنف الممارس ضدّ اللاجئات مع وكالة الأمم المتّحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين (الأونروا). تعمل دميان عن كثب مع ل. أبو حبيب في مجموعة الأبحاث والتدريب للعمل التنموي (CRTDA) - من موقعها كعضو في مجلس الإدارة - على تصميم وتنفيذ مشاريع التنمية الاجتماعية في لبنان، وبرامج تدريب للنساء اللبنانيات واللاجئات السوريات والفلسطينيات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أجرت أ. دميان بحثاً عن دور الشبكات اللانظامية في حياة اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان (2018-2020) بالتعاون مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين. تقدّم دميان للمشروع معرفتها الأساسية في تنظيم المجتمع النسائي في لبنان، بما فيه المهاجرات واللاجئات والمقيمات في المناطق الريفية. أيضاً، هي ملمّة في التدخل المجتمعي في كيبيك، خصوصاً أنها أكلمت الدكتوراه في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال في العام 2010 وأعطت دروساً عن هذا الموضوع.

الكلمات المفتاحيةتمكين النساء، الفقر، التنمية الاقتصادية-الاجتماعية، اللاجئون/ات والمهاجرون/ات، القضايا الجندرية.

جيل هانلي – باحثة مشاركة (كيبيك، كندا)

جيل هانلي؛ أستاذة مشاركة في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة ماكغيل، والمديرة العلمية لمعهد SHERPA الجامعي، وهو مركز أبحاث يهدف إلى تعزيز المعرفة وتطوير الممارسات الفضلى للتدخّل في سياق متعدّد الإثنيات. تتناول أبحاث هانلي الوصول إلى السكن والخدمات الصحية وحقوق العمّال المهاجرين الذين يعانون من أوضاع محفوفة بالمخاطر، ولا سيّما العمّال الأجانب المؤقتين وطالبي اللجوء والأفراد غير المسجّلين. أيضاً، تركّز أبحاثها على توثيق التحدّيات التي يواجهها هؤلاء الأفراد، بحيث يمكن استخدام النتائج لتطوير السياسات وإفادة المجموعات المجتمعية في تطوير مهامهم والسعي لتحقيقها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعمل عن كثب مع العديد من المنظمات المجتمعية (بما فيها المنظّمات الشريكة في هذا المشروع: PINAY وMCVI)، كما أنها أحد مؤسّسي مركز العمّال المهاجرين في مونتريال، التي تُعدُّ مساهمة يصعب إنكارها في هذا المشروع تضاف إلى خبرتها مع عاملات المنازل المهاجرات.

إيمانويل خوري – باحث مشارك (كيبيك، كندا)

إيمانويل؛ تتركّز خبرتها بشكل أساسي في مجال الصحّة النفسية، مع التركيز مؤخراً على ممارسات الصحّة النفسية للشباب. مع ذلك، تعدّ الصحة النفسية مجالاً واسعاً للغاية يتضمّن المعرفة والاهتمام بتدخّلات الصحة النفسية في البيئات المؤسساتية والمجتمعية، أساليب التهميش والوصم والتمييز، فضلاً عن القضايا المرتبطة بإعادة إنتاج علاقات القوة.

الكلمات المفتاحية: الصحة النفسية، تدخل اجتماعي، البيداغوجيا التأملية، :منظّمة الخدمة الاجتماعية

إدوارد أو جين لي – باحث مشارك (كيبيك، كندا)

إدوارد أو جين لي؛ أستاذ مشارك في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال، تتركّز خبرته في الروابط بين عمليات التمييز العنصري ومسارات الهجرة والجندر والجنسانية، نظراً لارتباطها بالتجارب المتداخلة للناس الخاضعين لتمييز العنصري والمهاجرين من مجتمع الميم-عين. يشارك في العديد من المشاريع البحثية، بعضها مع الدكتورة كارون، حيث يستخدم مقاربة نظرية نسوية عابرة للحدود ومناهضة للاستعمار ومنهجيات نقدية. هو جزء من العديد من الفرق البحثية، ويتعاون حالياً مع أعضاء في هذا المشروع، من ضمنهم Clinique Mauve وCentre InterActions. شارك في تأسيس جمعية AGIR في مونتريال التي تعمل مع أعضاء مجتمع الميم-عين واللاجئين والمهاجرين. تعدّ معرفته بقضايا التمييز العنصري والمهاجرين من مجتمع الميم-عين مساهمة مهمّة في هذا المشروع.إدوارد أو جين لي؛ أستاذ مشارك في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال، تتركّز خبرته في الروابط بين عمليات التمييز العنصري ومسارات الهجرة والجندر والجنسانية، نظراً لارتباطها بالتجارب المتداخلة للناس الخاضعين لتمييز العنصري والمهاجرين من مجتمع الميم-عين. يشارك في العديد من المشاريع البحثية، بعضها مع الدكتورة كارون، حيث يستخدم مقاربة نظرية نسوية عابرة للحدود ومناهضة للاستعمار ومنهجيات نقدية. هو جزء من العديد من الفرق البحثية، ويتعاون حالياً مع أعضاء في هذا المشروع، من ضمنهم Clinique Mauve وCentre InterActions. شارك في تأسيس جمعية AGIR في مونتريال التي تعمل مع أعضاء مجتمع الميم-عين واللاجئين والمهاجرين. تعدّ معرفته بقضايا التمييز العنصري والمهاجرين من مجتمع الميم-عين مساهمة مهمّة في هذا المشروع.

ميراي باكيه – المتعاونة (كيبيك، كندا)

م. باكيه؛ حائزة على كرسي الأبحاث حول سياسات الهجرة، وأستاذة مشاركة في قسم العلوم السياسية في جامعة كونكورديا. وأيضاً هي مديرة مركز دراسة السياسة والهجرة (CÉPI)، وأحد مدراء فريق البحث عن الهجرة في كيبيك الحالية (ÉRIQA). تركّز أبحاثها على سياسات الهجرة في كندا، والصناعة البيروقراطية لسياسات الهجرة، والابتكار في سياسات الهجرة. معروفة بخبرتها في مجال المواطنة وسياسات الهجرة في كندا/ كيبيك وعلى الصعيد الدولي. مسألة انعدام المواطنة هي في صلب القضايا التي تواجهها المهاجرات ذات الأوضاع الحياتية الهشّة في لبنان وكندا (يمكن العودة إلى وصف المشروع)، لذلك مشاركتها سوف تغني هذا المشروع بخبيرة في البعد السياسي المتأصل في قضايا الهجرة، والبعد التقاطعي لواقع النساء المعنيات (على سبيل المثال، قضايا اللاعدالة واللامساواة والاندماج والإقصاء). 

المنظّمات الشريكة

CRTD.A (لبنان)
CRTD.A منظمة نسوية غير حكومية مسجّلة في بيروت منذ العام 2003، تعمل في لبنان ومع منظّمات شقيقة في البلدان العربية ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا مثل الجزائر والبحرين ومصر والأردن والمغرب وسوريا وتونس. تسعى المنظّمة إلى المساهمة في قضايا المواطنة والعدالة الاجتماعية والعدالة الجندرية.

كلينيك موف (كيبيك / كندا)

Clinique Mauve هي الأولى من نوعها في كيبيك، أطلقت في مونتريال في العام 2020 بموجب منحة من كيلة أطباء الأسرة في مؤسسة كندا لتطوير طب الأسرة، وبتعاون وثيق مع منظمة AGIR. تقدّم المنظّمة الرعاية الطبية المتكاملة والخدمات النفسية الاجتماعية التي تتبع مقاربات مناهضة للقمع، تقاطعية وحذرة مع الصدمات.

PINAY (كيبيك / كندا)
PINAY is a non-profit organization of Filipino migrants/immigrant women workers created in 1991 to organize and empower Filipino women in Quebec. Since then, it has played a vital role in the fight for the rights and welfare of Filipinos working as domestic workers under the Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP). PINAY is part of a network of women-focused advocacy organizations in Canada that lobbies the federal and provincial governments for the protection of migrant workers and their families. Its current membership counts 250 Filipino domestic workers and professionals in Quebec/Canada.

MCVI (كيبيك / كندا)
MCVI انبثقت من الوعي النسوي لنساء من خلفيات مختلفة تعرّفن إلى أشكال عدّة من القمع الممارس ضدّ النساء. مهمتنا هي مواجهة جميع أشكال العنف التي تختبرها النساء كنتيجة لعلاقات القوّة غير المتكافئة وعلاقات السيطرة الموجودة في المجتمع، والتي تنبع من مصادر قمع مختلفة. على مدار السنوات، طوّرت المنظّمة خبرات في التدخّل ودعم المهاجرات وطالبات اللجوء اللواتي تعرّضن للعنف الجنسي والجندري. تعمل MCVI على: تقديم المساعدة المباشرة، التوعية والوقاية، والمناصرة. وتتبع مقاربة نسوية تقاطعية في جميع أعمالها.

Centre Interactions du CIUSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
منذ العام 2001، يدرس Centre InterActions، بالشراكة مع جامعة مونتريال، أنظمة شبكات الدعم الأسري والمجتمعي والعامة، وتطوّرها، من أجل الاستجابة للمشاكل الصحية والاجتماعية المعقّدة من منظور عابر للقطاعات. تضع الجمع بين البحث الجامعي والممارسة التطبيقية ضمن أولوياتها، بهدف تحسين الوصول إلى الخدمات الصحية والاجتماعية، وضمان استمراريتها، وتوافقها مع حاجات السكان.

الطلاب الشركاء والطالبات الشريكات

جاك لحود – طالب دكتوراه (كيبيك / كندا ولبنان)
جاك؛ محلّل نفسي وطالب دكتوراه في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال. يعمل في هذا المجال منذ العام 2002 وفي بلدان مختلفة (مصر، فرنسا، لبنان، مالي، سوريا). تتضمّن اهتماماته البحثية مواضيع مختلفة مثل مشاريع الحياة، اللاجئين، كرامة الإنسان (ولا سيما الذي يتلقّى المساعدات)، الدعم النفسي الاجتماعي للعاملين/ات الاجتماعيين/ات. باتباعي نهجاً متعدّد التخصّصات، أنا مهتمّ في عملية إعادة بناء الإنسان (بكرامة وحرية) الذي اختبر المحنات وعانى من الصدمات في حياته.

ميراي ملكيت – طالبة ماجستير (كيبيك / كندا)
ميراي مالاكيت؛ طالبة ماستر في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية في جامعة مونتريال. تركّز أطروحتها على معاينة التحديات والفرص في مشروع GIPS، الذي تعمل فيه كمساعدة باحث. من خلال خبراتها المتعدّدة في التدخل الاجتماعي في البيئات المجتمعية والمؤسّساتية في كيبيك، بما فيها العمل مع الأسر المهاجرة، والشباب في المدارس، وبرامج إعادة الاندماج المهني والاجتماعي، تتضمّن اهتماماتها البحثية تجارب المهاجرات ذات الأوضاع الحياتية الهشّة في كيبك ولبنان، والتضامن النسوي العابر للحدود، والهويات التعدّدية لأطفال الأزواج المختلطين، والممارسات التي تتمحور حول الطبيعة والمغامرة في العمل الاجتماعي. حائزة على إجازة في الجغرافيا البيئية مع تخصّص في البيئة البشرية وديبلوم في الدراسات المتخصّصة في العمل الاجتماعي.

الكلمات المفتاحية: مهاجرة، تضامن عابر للحدود، مقاربات نسوية، هويات تعدّدية، التدخل النفسي الاجتماعي من خلال الطبيعة والمغامرات

ماريلينا ليغوري – طالبة ماجستير (كيبيك / كندا)

AR

Our Team

Principal investigator and researcher in charge – Québec/Canada site

Roxane Caron

Roxane Caron is a social worker by training and is now an associate professor at the School of Social Work of the Université de Montréal. She has extensive experience in practice and research, both in Quebec and in Lebanon, as well as theoretical expertise on issues surrounding refugees and migration from a transnational perspective. Her work focuses primarily on the realities of refugee women, life in refugee camps, and protracted exile. She has led several research projects involving Canada and Lebanon that aim to understand – from a transnational and intersectional perspective – the migration pathways of refugees from Syria settled in Canada (Quebec) and Lebanon.

Keywords: woman, transnational feminism, decolonial feminism, intersectionality, prolonged exile, refugee camp.

Researcher in charge – Lebanon site

Lina Abou-Habib
Lina Abou-Habib is the Director of the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship at the American University of Beirut as well as the Gender project Director of the MEPI-TLS program at AUB. She is a feminist activist and researcher with a long career working with local, regional, and international institutions including the Royal Tropical Institute on gender mainstreaming and feminist activism. She has designed, implemented, and led multi-year gender equality initiatives including training, research, and community actions, and served on many local and international boards including AWID where she served as the Board Secretary and Chair from 2008 to 2012.  Abou-Habib is a member of the editorial committee of the Gender and Development journal and serves on the Board of Haven for Artists.  She also designs and teaches a number of undergraduate gender courses at AUB.

Keywords: active citizenship; women’s political participation; invisible care work; migrant women and refugees’ women in post-war Lebanon

Coordinators

Project coordinator and local coordinator – Québec/Canada site

Myriam Richard
Myriam is a Ph.D. candidate at the School of Social Work at Université de Montréal. She is trained in history, urban studies, geography, and social work. For the last 12 years, she has been involved in the field of immigration and refuge as a researcher, trainer, as well as social/community worker. Her work aims to defend the rights of migrant and refugee people by better understanding the experiences of refugee families’ lives across borders, as well as social and community workers supporting them. It tries to create bridges between research and social/community intervention by mobilizing critical family, transnational and feminist studies through narrative and collaborative methods. Her personal and professional experiences have led her to be anchored transnationally across the borders of Québec/Canada, the United States, Russia and Lebanon.

Keywords: transnational refugee families; family separation and reunification; social and community intervention; critical family and feminist studies; narrative and collaborative methods.

Local coordinator – Lebanon site

Carla Akil
Carla Akil is a researcher and project coordinator at the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship, American University of Beirut. She has extensive experience in advocacy for gender equality, including developing and implementing social media campaigns as well as organizing and moderating webinars. Her research work is focused on women’s rights and gender equality in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, including prejudice and feminist funding narratives. Carla has a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the American University of Beirut.

Keywords: gender; feminism; women empowerment; sexual and gender-based violence

Co-researchers and collaborators

Amal Damien – co-researcher (Lebanon)

Amal M. Damien is a lecturer at the Lebanese School of Social Education at St. Joseph University in Beirut and has been working on refugee women’s issues in Lebanon for many years. She was the coordinator of a training program with the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA) on psychosocial support for violence against refugee women. Dr. Damien works closely with L. Abou Habib at the Collective for Research and Training on Development Action (CRTDA) – where she is a member of the Board of Directors – on the design and implementation of social development projects in Lebanon and training programs for Lebanese and Syrian/Palestinian refugee women. In addition, A. Damien conducted research in collaboration with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) on the role of informal networks in the lives of Syrian refugees in Lebanon (2018-2020). Dr. Damien brings to the project her grounded knowledge of women’s community organizing in Lebanon, including migrant and refugee women, including those living in rural areas. She is also familiar with the Quebec context of community intervention, having completed a doctoral stay at the School of Social Work of the University of Montreal in 2010, where she taught on the subject.

Keywords: women empowerment; poverty; socioeconomic development; refugees and migrants; gender issues

Jill Hanley – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Jill Hanley is an Associate Professor at the School of Social Work of McGill University and Scientific Director of the SHERPA University Institute, a research center that aims to advance knowledge and develop best practices for intervention in a multi-ethnic context. Dr. Hanley’s research focuses on access to housing, health services and labour rights for migrants with precarious status, particularly temporary foreign workers, asylum seekers and undocumented persons. Her research focuses on documenting the challenges faced by these individuals so that the results can both inform policy development and benefit community groups in their development and pursuit of their mission. In addition, she works closely with many community organizations (including the partner organizations in this project, PINAY and MCVI) and is the co-founder of the Immigrant Workers’ Centre in Montreal, which is an undeniable contribution to this project as well as her expertise with migrant women domestic workers.

Emmanuelle Khoury – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Emmanuelle’s experience and expertise are primarily in the field of mental health, more recently with a focus on youth mental health practices to youth mental health practices. That said, mental health is a very broad field that includes knowledge and knowledge and interests around: mental health intervention in institutional and community settings, processes of marginalization, stigmatization, and discrimination; and issues related to the reproduction of power relations.

Keywords: mental health; social intervention; contemplative pedagogy; social services organization

Edward Ou Jin Lee – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Edward Ou Jin Lee is an Associate Professor at the School of Social Work at the University of Montreal and his expertise is in the links between processes of racialization, migratory pathways, gender and sexuality, particularly as they relate to the intersectional experiences of racialized and migrant LGBTQ people. He is involved in several research projects, including some with Dr. Caron, where he uses a transnational and decolonial feminist theoretical approach and critical methodologies. He is part of several research teams and is already collaborating with members of the present project, including the Clinique Mauve and the Centre InterActions. He is also a co-founder of AGIR Montreal (Action LGBTQ avec les ImmigrantEs et RéfugiéÉs) and his knowledge of the issues of racialized and migrant LGBTQI+ people is an important contribution to this project.

Mireille Paquet – collaborator (Québec/Canada)

M. Paquet est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche sur la politique de l’immigration et professeure agrégée au Département de science politique de l’Université Concordia. Elle est également directrice du Centre pour l’étude de la politique et de l’immigration (CÉPI) et co-directrice de l’Équipe de recherche sur l’immigration dans le Québec actuel (ÉRIQA). Ses recherches portent sur les politiques d’immigration au Canada, sur l’élaboration bureaucratique de politiques dans le secteur de l’immigration et sur l’innovation en matière de politiques d’immigration. Son expertise dans le champ de la citoyenneté et des politiques migratoires au Canada/Québec et à l’international est reconnue. La question de la (non) citoyenneté étant au cœur des enjeux que rencontrent les femmes migrantes en situations de précarités au Canada et au Liban (voir Description du projet), sa collaboration nous permettra d’avoir une experte de la dimension politique inhérente aux enjeux de migrations; dimension à l’intersection des réalités des femmes concernées (par ex., les enjeux d’injustices, d’inégalités et d’inclusion ou d’exclusion. 

Partner organizations

CRTD.A (Lebanon)
CRTD.A is a feminist organization based in Beirut Lebanon and works in Lebanon and with sister organizations in Arab countries in the MENA region. It is a non-governmental organization registered in 2003 based in Beirut, Lebanon. Whether working in Lebanon or across the Arab countries in collaboration with partners in Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Syria, and Tunisia, CRTD.A seeks to contribute to citizenship, social justice, and gender equality.

Clinique Mauve (Québec/Canada)

The first of its kind in Quebec, Clinique Mauve was launched in Montreal in 2020 with an original grant from the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s Foundation for the Advancement of Family Medicine. Launched in close collaboration with the community organization AGIR, Clinique Mauve offers integrated medical care and psychosocial services that take anti-oppressive, intersectional and trauma-sensitive approaches.

PINAY (Québec/Canada)
PINAY is a non-profit organization of Filipino migrants/immigrant women workers created in 1991 to organize and empower Filipino women in Quebec. Since then, it has played a vital role in the fight for the rights and welfare of Filipinos working as domestic workers under the Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP). PINAY is part of a network of women-focused advocacy organizations in Canada that lobbies the federal and provincial governments for the protection of migrant workers and their families. Its current membership counts 250 Filipino domestic workers and professionals in Quebec/Canada.

MCVI (Québec/Canada)
MCVI emerges from a feminist consciousness of women from diverse backgrounds who recognize the different forms of oppression against women. Our mission is to counter all forms of violence experienced by women as a result of the unequal power relations and domination existing in society, which stem from different sources of oppression. Over the years, it has developed expertise in the intervention and support of migrant women and asylum seekers who have experienced sexual and gender-based violence. MCVI has three components: direct assistance, awareness and prevention, and advocacy. Our feminist and intersectional approach is transversal in all our actions at MCVI.

Centre Interactions du CIUSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Since 2001, Centre Interactions, in partnership with the Université de Montréal, has been studying the configuration and evolution of family, community, and public support networks in order to respond to complex health and social problems from an intersectoral perspective. Bringing together university research and practice has always been one of its priorities, with the objective of improving access, continuity, and adequacy of health and social services to the needs of the population.

Student partners

Jacques Lahoud – Ph.D. Student (Québec/Canada and Lebanon)
Jacques is a psychoanalyst and Ph.D. student at the School of Social Work at Université de Montréal. Working in the field since 2002 in various countries (Egypt, France, Lebanon, Mali, Syria), his research interests include various themes such as life projects, refugees, the dignity of the human person (especially the one receiving aid), psychosocial support to social workers. Having an interdisciplinary approach, I am interested in the process of reconstruction (with dignity and freedom) of the human person who has experienced adversity/trauma in life.

Mireille Malaket – Master’s Student (Québec/Canada)
Mireille Malaket holds a bachelor’s degree in environmental geography with a specialization in human environment and a diploma in specialized studies in social work. She is currently a master’s student in social work at the University of Montreal. Her thesis is centered on examining the challenges and opportunities in the start-up of the project “Femmes, genre, (im)mobilités et vies précaires” (Women, gender, (im)mobilities and precarious lives), for which she is currently working as a research assistant. With multiple experiences in social intervention in community and institutional settings in Quebec, including with migrant families and youth in schools and in socio-professional reintegration, her research interests include the experiences of migrant women in precarious situations in Quebec and Lebanon, transnational feminist solidarity, the plural identities of children of mixed couples, and nature and adventure-centered practices in social work.

Keywords: migrant women; transnational solidarity; feminist approaches; plural identities; psychosocial intervention through nature and adventure

Marilena Liguori – Master’s Student (Québec/Canada)

EN