Notre équipe

Chercheure principale et en charge du site Québec/Canada

Roxane Caron

Roxane Caron est travailleuse sociale de formation et est maintenant professeure agrégée à l’École de travail social de l’Université de Montréal. Elle a une longue expérience dans la pratique et la recherche, au Québec comme au Liban, ainsi qu’une expertise théorique sur les enjeux entourant les réfugiés et la migration dans une perspective transnationale. Ses travaux se concentrent principalement sur les réalités des femmes réfugiées, la vie en camps de réfugiés et l’exil prolongé. Elle a dirigé plusieurs projets de recherche impliquant le Canada et le Liban qui visent à comprendre – à partir d’une perspective transnationale et intersectionnelle – les parcours migratoires de personnes réfugiées de la Syrie installées au Canada (Québec) et au Liban.

Mots-clés femme, féminisme transnational, féminisme décolonial, intersectionnalité, exil prolongé, camp de réfugiés.

Chercheure principale et en charge du site Québec/Canada

Lina Abou-Habib
Lina Abou-Habib is the Director of the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship at the American University of Beirut as well as the Gender project Director of the MEPI-TLS program at AUB. She is a feminist activist and researcher with a long career working with local, regional, and international institutions including the Royal Tropical Institute on gender mainstreaming and feminist activism. She has designed, implemented, and led multi-year gender equality initiatives including training, research, and community actions, and served on many local and international boards including AWID where she served as the Board Secretary and Chair from 2008 to 2012.  Abou-Habib is a member of the editorial committee of the Gender and Development journal and serves on the Board of Haven for Artists.  She also designs and teaches a number of undergraduate gender courses at AUB.

Mots-clés: citoyenneté active ; participation politique des femmes ; travail de soins invisible ; femmes migrantes et réfugiées dans le Liban d'après-guerre

Coordonnatrices

Coordonatrice du projet et coordonnatrice locale du site Québec/Canada

Myriam Richard
Myriam est candidate au doctorat à l'École de service social de l'Université de Montréal. Elle est formée en histoire, en études urbaines, en géographie et en travail social. Depuis 12 ans, elle est impliquée dans le domaine de l'immigration et du refuge en tant que chercheuse, formatrice et travailleuse sociale/communautaire. Son travail vise à défendre les droits des personnes migrantes et réfugiées en tentant de mieux comprendre les expériences de vie des familles réfugiées transnationales, ainsi que des travailleurs sociaux et communautaires qui les soutiennent. Elle tente de créer des ponts entre la recherche et l'intervention sociale/communautaire en mobilisant des études critiques sur la famille, les études transnationales et les études féministes par le biais de méthodes narratives et collaboratives. Ses expériences personnelles et professionnelles l'ont amenée à être ancrée de manière transnationale à travers les frontières du Québec/Canada, des États-Unis, de la Russie et du Liban.

Mots-clés: familles réfugiées transnationales ; séparation et réunification familiale ; intervention sociale et communautaire ; études critiques sur la famille et féministes ; méthodes narratives et collaboratives.

Coordinateur local - site du Liban

Carla Akil
Carla Akil est chercheuse et coordinatrice de projet à l'Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship, American University of Beirut. Elle possède une vaste expérience en matière de plaidoyer pour l'égalité des sexes, notamment dans l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de campagnes sur les médias sociaux ainsi que dans l'organisation et la modération de webinaires. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur les droits des femmes et l'égalité des sexes dans la région du Moyen-Orient et de l'Afrique du Nord (MENA), notamment sur les préjugés et les récits de financement féministes. Carla est titulaire d'une licence en psychologie de l'Université américaine de Beyrouth.

Mots-clés genre; féminisme; empowerment des femmes; violence sexuelle et basée sur le genre

Co-chercheur.e.s et collaborateur.rice.s

Amal Damien – co-researcher (Lebanon)

Amal M. Damien est maître de conférences à l'École libanaise d'éducation sociale de l'Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth et travaille depuis de nombreuses années sur les questions relatives aux femmes réfugiées au Liban. Elle a été coordinatrice d'un programme de formation avec l'Office de secours et de travaux des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine (UNRWA) sur le soutien psychosocial de la violence à l'égard des femmes réfugiées. A. Damien travaille en étroite collaboration avec L. Abou Habib au sein du Collectif de recherche et de formation sur l'action de développement (CRTDA) - où elle est membre du conseil d'administration - sur la conception et la mise en œuvre de projets de développement social au Liban et de programmes de formation pour les femmes réfugiées libanaises et syriennes/palestiniennes. En outre, A. Damien a mené des recherches en collaboration avec le Haut Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) sur le rôle des réseaux informels dans la vie des réfugiés syriens au Liban (2018-2020). A. Damien apporte au projet sa connaissance ancrée de l'organisation communautaire des femmes au Liban, notamment des femmes migrantes et réfugiées, y compris celles qui vivent en milieu rural. Elle est également familière avec le contexte québécois de l'intervention communautaire, ayant effectué un séjour doctoral à l'École de travail social de l'Université de Montréal en 2010, où elle a enseigné sur le sujet.

Mots-clés: empowerment des femmes ; pauvreté ; développement socio-économique ; réfugiés et migrants ; questions de genre.

Jill Hanley – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Jill Hanley est professeure associée à l'École de travail social de l'Université McGill et directrice scientifique de l'Institut universitaire SHERPA, un centre de recherche qui vise à faire progresser les connaissances et à développer les meilleures pratiques d'intervention dans un contexte multiethnique. Les recherches du Dr Hanley portent sur l'accès au logement, aux services de santé et aux droits du travail pour les migrants à statut précaire, notamment les travailleurs étrangers temporaires, les demandeurs d'asile et les personnes sans papiers. Elle cherche à documenter les difficultés rencontrées par ces personnes afin que les résultats puissent à la fois éclairer l'élaboration des politiques et bénéficier aux groupes communautaires dans leur développement et la poursuite de leur mission. De plus, elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec de nombreux organismes communautaires (dont les organismes partenaires de ce projet, PINAY et MCVI) et est la cofondatrice du Centre des travailleurs immigrants de Montréal, ce qui constitue une contribution indéniable à ce projet ainsi que son expertise auprès des travailleuses domestiques migrantes.

Emmanuelle Khoury – co-chercheuse (Québec/Canada)

L'expérience et expertise d'Emmanuelle est surtout dans le domaine de la santé mentale, plus récemment avec une attention portée aux pratiques en santé mentale jeunesse. Cela dit, la santé mentale est un champ très vaste qui inclut des connaissances et intérêts autour de : l’intervention en santé mentale en milieu institutionnel et communautaire; des processus de marginalisation, stigmatisation et discrimination; et des enjeux liés à la reproduction des rapports de pouvoir.

Mots-clés : santé mentale; intervention sociale; pédagogie contemplative; organisation des services sociaux

Edward Ou Jin Lee – co-chercheuse (Québec/Canada)

Edward Ou Jin Lee est professeur agrégé à l'École de travail social de l'Université de Montréal. Son expertise porte sur les liens entre les processus de racialisation, les parcours migratoires, le genre et la sexualité, notamment en ce qui concerne les expériences intersectionnelles des personnes LGBTQ racialisées et migrantes. Il est impliqué dans plusieurs projets de recherche, dont certains avec Dr. Caron, où il utilise une approche théorique féministe transnationale et décoloniale et des méthodologies critiques. Il fait partie de plusieurs équipes de recherche et collabore déjà avec les membres du présent projet, notamment la Clinique Mauve et le Centre InterActions. Il est également co-fondateur d'AGIR Montréal (Action LGBTQ avec les ImmigrantEs et RéfugiéEs) et sa connaissance des problématiques des personnes LGBTQI+ racisées et migrantes est une contribution importante à ce projet.

Mireille Paquet – collaborateur (Québec/Canada)

M. Paquet est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche sur la politique de l’immigration et professeure agrégée au Département de science politique de l’Université Concordia. Elle est également directrice du Centre pour l’étude de la politique et de l’immigration (CÉPI) et co-directrice de l’Équipe de recherche sur l’immigration dans le Québec actuel (ÉRIQA). Ses recherches portent sur les politiques d’immigration au Canada, sur l’élaboration bureaucratique de politiques dans le secteur de l’immigration et sur l’innovation en matière de politiques d’immigration. Son expertise dans le champ de la citoyenneté et des politiques migratoires au Canada/Québec et à l’international est reconnue. La question de la (non) citoyenneté étant au cœur des enjeux que rencontrent les femmes migrantes en situations de précarités au Canada et au Liban (voir Description du projet), sa collaboration nous permettra d’avoir une experte de la dimension politique inhérente aux enjeux de migrations; dimension à l’intersection des réalités des femmes concernées (par ex., les enjeux d’injustices, d’inégalités et d’inclusion ou d’exclusion. 

Organisations partenaires

CRTD.A (Liban)
Le CRTD.A est une organisation féministe basée à Beyrouth au Liban et travaille au Liban et avec des organisations sœurs dans les pays arabes de la région du MENA. Il s'agit d'une organisation non gouvernementale enregistrée en 2003 et basée à Beyrouth, au Liban. Qu'il travaille au Liban ou dans les pays arabes en collaboration avec des partenaires en Algérie, au Bahreïn, en Égypte, en Jordanie, au Maroc, en Syrie et en Tunisie, le CRTD.A cherche à contribuer à la citoyenneté, à la justice sociale et à l'égalité des sexes.

Clinique Mauve (Québec/Canada)

Première du genre au Québec, la Clinique Mauve a été lancée à Montréal en 2020 grâce à une subvention originale de la Fondation pour l'avancement de la médecine familiale du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. Lancée en étroite collaboration avec l'organisme communautaire AGIR, la Clinique Mauve offre des soins médicaux et des services psychosociaux intégrés qui adoptent des approches anti-oppressives, intersectionnelles et sensibles aux traumatismes.

PINAY (Québec/Canada)
PINAY est une organisation sans but lucratif de migrantes/travailleuses immigrées philippines créée en 1991 pour soutenir l'organisation collective et l'empowerment des femmes philippines au Québec. Depuis lors, elle a joué un rôle essentiel dans la lutte pour les droits et le bien-être des travailleuses domestiques philippines dans le cadre du Programme des aides familiaux résidants (PAFR). PINAY fait partie d'un réseau d'organisations de défense des droits des femmes au Canada qui fait pression sur les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux pour la protection des travailleurs migrants et de leurs familles. PINAY compte actuellement 250 travailleuses domestiques et professionnelles philippines au Québec/Canada.

MCVI (Québec/Canada)
Le MCVI émerge d’une conscience féministe de femmes de diverses origines qui reconnaissent les différentes formes d’oppression envers les femmes.Notre Mission est de contrer toute forme de violence vécue par les femmes comme résultante des rapports de pouvoir inégaux et de domination existante dans la société, rapports qui découlent des différentes sources d’oppression. Au fil des ans, le MCVI a développé une expertise dans l’intervention et l’accompagnement des femmes migrantes et demandeures d'asile ayant vécu de la violence sexuelle et basée sur le genre.Le MCVI est constitué de trois volets dont l’aide direct, la sensibilisation et prévention et la lutte et défense des droits. Notre approche est féministe et intersectionnelle est transversale dans toutes nos actions au MCVI.

Centre Interactions du CIUSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Depuis 2001, le Centre Interactions en partenariat avec l’Université de Montréal, étudie la configuration et l’évolution des réseaux de solidarités familiale, communautaire et publique pour répondre à des problèmes sociosanitaires complexes dans une perspective intersectorielle. Le rapprochement entre la recherche universitaire et les milieux de pratique a toujours été une de ses priorités, avec l’objectif d’améliorer l’accès, la continuité et l’adéquation des services de santé et des services sociaux aux besoins de la population.

Étudiants partenaires

Jacques Lahoud – doctorant (Québec/Canada et Liban)
Jacques est psychanalyste et doctorant à l'École de service social de l'Université de Montréal. Travaillant sur le terrain depuis 2002 dans différents pays (Égypte, France, Liban, Mali, Syrie), ses intérêts de recherche incluent des thèmes variés tels que les projets de vie, les réfugiés, la dignité de la personne humaine (surtout celle qui reçoit de l'aide), le soutien psychosocial aux travailleurs sociaux. Ayant une approche interdisciplinaire, je m'intéresse au processus de reconstruction (dans la dignité et la liberté) de la personne humaine qui a vécu une adversité/un traumatisme dans sa vie.

Mireille Malaket – Étudiante à la maîtrise (Québec/Canada)
Mireille Malaket holds a bachelor’s degree in environmental geography with a specialization in human environment and a diploma in specialized studies in social work. She is currently a master’s student in social work at the University of Montreal. Her thesis is centered on examining the challenges and opportunities in the start-up of the project “Femmes, genre, (im)mobilités et vies précaires” (Women, gender, (im)mobilities and precarious lives), for which she is currently working as a research assistant. With multiple experiences in social intervention in community and institutional settings in Quebec, including with migrant families and youth in schools and in socio-professional reintegration, her research interests include the experiences of migrant women in precarious situations in Quebec and Lebanon, transnational feminist solidarity, the plural identities of children of mixed couples, and nature and adventure-centered practices in social work.

Mots-clés: femmes migrantes; solidarité transnationale; approches féministes; identités plurielles; intervention psychosociale par la nature et l’aventure

Marilena Liguori - Étudiante à la maîtrise (Québec/Canada)

FR

Our Team

Principal investigator and researcher in charge – Québec/Canada site

Roxane Caron

Roxane Caron is a social worker by training and is now an associate professor at the School of Social Work of the Université de Montréal. She has extensive experience in practice and research, both in Quebec and in Lebanon, as well as theoretical expertise on issues surrounding refugees and migration from a transnational perspective. Her work focuses primarily on the realities of refugee women, life in refugee camps, and protracted exile. She has led several research projects involving Canada and Lebanon that aim to understand – from a transnational and intersectional perspective – the migration pathways of refugees from Syria settled in Canada (Quebec) and Lebanon.

Keywords: woman, transnational feminism, decolonial feminism, intersectionality, prolonged exile, refugee camp.

Researcher in charge – Lebanon site

Lina Abou-Habib
Lina Abou-Habib is the Director of the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship at the American University of Beirut as well as the Gender project Director of the MEPI-TLS program at AUB. She is a feminist activist and researcher with a long career working with local, regional, and international institutions including the Royal Tropical Institute on gender mainstreaming and feminist activism. She has designed, implemented, and led multi-year gender equality initiatives including training, research, and community actions, and served on many local and international boards including AWID where she served as the Board Secretary and Chair from 2008 to 2012.  Abou-Habib is a member of the editorial committee of the Gender and Development journal and serves on the Board of Haven for Artists.  She also designs and teaches a number of undergraduate gender courses at AUB.

Keywords: active citizenship; women’s political participation; invisible care work; migrant women and refugees’ women in post-war Lebanon

Coordinators

Project coordinator and local coordinator – Québec/Canada site

Myriam Richard
Myriam is a Ph.D. candidate at the School of Social Work at Université de Montréal. She is trained in history, urban studies, geography, and social work. For the last 12 years, she has been involved in the field of immigration and refuge as a researcher, trainer, as well as social/community worker. Her work aims to defend the rights of migrant and refugee people by better understanding the experiences of refugee families’ lives across borders, as well as social and community workers supporting them. It tries to create bridges between research and social/community intervention by mobilizing critical family, transnational and feminist studies through narrative and collaborative methods. Her personal and professional experiences have led her to be anchored transnationally across the borders of Québec/Canada, the United States, Russia and Lebanon.

Keywords: transnational refugee families; family separation and reunification; social and community intervention; critical family and feminist studies; narrative and collaborative methods.

Local coordinator – Lebanon site

Carla Akil
Carla Akil is a researcher and project coordinator at the Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship, American University of Beirut. She has extensive experience in advocacy for gender equality, including developing and implementing social media campaigns as well as organizing and moderating webinars. Her research work is focused on women’s rights and gender equality in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, including prejudice and feminist funding narratives. Carla has a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from the American University of Beirut.

Keywords: gender; feminism; women empowerment; sexual and gender-based violence

Co-researchers and collaborators

Amal Damien – co-researcher (Lebanon)

Amal M. Damien is a lecturer at the Lebanese School of Social Education at St. Joseph University in Beirut and has been working on refugee women’s issues in Lebanon for many years. She was the coordinator of a training program with the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA) on psychosocial support for violence against refugee women. Dr. Damien works closely with L. Abou Habib at the Collective for Research and Training on Development Action (CRTDA) – where she is a member of the Board of Directors – on the design and implementation of social development projects in Lebanon and training programs for Lebanese and Syrian/Palestinian refugee women. In addition, A. Damien conducted research in collaboration with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) on the role of informal networks in the lives of Syrian refugees in Lebanon (2018-2020). Dr. Damien brings to the project her grounded knowledge of women’s community organizing in Lebanon, including migrant and refugee women, including those living in rural areas. She is also familiar with the Quebec context of community intervention, having completed a doctoral stay at the School of Social Work of the University of Montreal in 2010, where she taught on the subject.

Keywords: women empowerment; poverty; socioeconomic development; refugees and migrants; gender issues

Jill Hanley – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Jill Hanley is an Associate Professor at the School of Social Work of McGill University and Scientific Director of the SHERPA University Institute, a research center that aims to advance knowledge and develop best practices for intervention in a multi-ethnic context. Dr. Hanley’s research focuses on access to housing, health services and labour rights for migrants with precarious status, particularly temporary foreign workers, asylum seekers and undocumented persons. Her research focuses on documenting the challenges faced by these individuals so that the results can both inform policy development and benefit community groups in their development and pursuit of their mission. In addition, she works closely with many community organizations (including the partner organizations in this project, PINAY and MCVI) and is the co-founder of the Immigrant Workers’ Centre in Montreal, which is an undeniable contribution to this project as well as her expertise with migrant women domestic workers.

Emmanuelle Khoury – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Emmanuelle’s experience and expertise are primarily in the field of mental health, more recently with a focus on youth mental health practices to youth mental health practices. That said, mental health is a very broad field that includes knowledge and knowledge and interests around: mental health intervention in institutional and community settings, processes of marginalization, stigmatization, and discrimination; and issues related to the reproduction of power relations.

Keywords: mental health; social intervention; contemplative pedagogy; social services organization

Edward Ou Jin Lee – co-researcher (Québec/Canada)

Edward Ou Jin Lee is an Associate Professor at the School of Social Work at the University of Montreal and his expertise is in the links between processes of racialization, migratory pathways, gender and sexuality, particularly as they relate to the intersectional experiences of racialized and migrant LGBTQ people. He is involved in several research projects, including some with Dr. Caron, where he uses a transnational and decolonial feminist theoretical approach and critical methodologies. He is part of several research teams and is already collaborating with members of the present project, including the Clinique Mauve and the Centre InterActions. He is also a co-founder of AGIR Montreal (Action LGBTQ avec les ImmigrantEs et RéfugiéÉs) and his knowledge of the issues of racialized and migrant LGBTQI+ people is an important contribution to this project.

Mireille Paquet – collaborator (Québec/Canada)

M. Paquet est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche sur la politique de l’immigration et professeure agrégée au Département de science politique de l’Université Concordia. Elle est également directrice du Centre pour l’étude de la politique et de l’immigration (CÉPI) et co-directrice de l’Équipe de recherche sur l’immigration dans le Québec actuel (ÉRIQA). Ses recherches portent sur les politiques d’immigration au Canada, sur l’élaboration bureaucratique de politiques dans le secteur de l’immigration et sur l’innovation en matière de politiques d’immigration. Son expertise dans le champ de la citoyenneté et des politiques migratoires au Canada/Québec et à l’international est reconnue. La question de la (non) citoyenneté étant au cœur des enjeux que rencontrent les femmes migrantes en situations de précarités au Canada et au Liban (voir Description du projet), sa collaboration nous permettra d’avoir une experte de la dimension politique inhérente aux enjeux de migrations; dimension à l’intersection des réalités des femmes concernées (par ex., les enjeux d’injustices, d’inégalités et d’inclusion ou d’exclusion. 

Partner organizations

CRTD.A (Lebanon)
CRTD.A is a feminist organization based in Beirut Lebanon and works in Lebanon and with sister organizations in Arab countries in the MENA region. It is a non-governmental organization registered in 2003 based in Beirut, Lebanon. Whether working in Lebanon or across the Arab countries in collaboration with partners in Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Syria, and Tunisia, CRTD.A seeks to contribute to citizenship, social justice, and gender equality.

Clinique Mauve (Québec/Canada)

The first of its kind in Quebec, Clinique Mauve was launched in Montreal in 2020 with an original grant from the College of Family Physicians of Canada’s Foundation for the Advancement of Family Medicine. Launched in close collaboration with the community organization AGIR, Clinique Mauve offers integrated medical care and psychosocial services that take anti-oppressive, intersectional and trauma-sensitive approaches.

PINAY (Québec/Canada)
PINAY is a non-profit organization of Filipino migrants/immigrant women workers created in 1991 to organize and empower Filipino women in Quebec. Since then, it has played a vital role in the fight for the rights and welfare of Filipinos working as domestic workers under the Live-in Caregiver Program (LCP). PINAY is part of a network of women-focused advocacy organizations in Canada that lobbies the federal and provincial governments for the protection of migrant workers and their families. Its current membership counts 250 Filipino domestic workers and professionals in Quebec/Canada.

MCVI (Québec/Canada)
MCVI emerges from a feminist consciousness of women from diverse backgrounds who recognize the different forms of oppression against women. Our mission is to counter all forms of violence experienced by women as a result of the unequal power relations and domination existing in society, which stem from different sources of oppression. Over the years, it has developed expertise in the intervention and support of migrant women and asylum seekers who have experienced sexual and gender-based violence. MCVI has three components: direct assistance, awareness and prevention, and advocacy. Our feminist and intersectional approach is transversal in all our actions at MCVI.

Centre Interactions du CIUSS du Nord-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Since 2001, Centre Interactions, in partnership with the Université de Montréal, has been studying the configuration and evolution of family, community, and public support networks in order to respond to complex health and social problems from an intersectoral perspective. Bringing together university research and practice has always been one of its priorities, with the objective of improving access, continuity, and adequacy of health and social services to the needs of the population.

Student partners

Jacques Lahoud – Ph.D. Student (Québec/Canada and Lebanon)
Jacques is a psychoanalyst and Ph.D. student at the School of Social Work at Université de Montréal. Working in the field since 2002 in various countries (Egypt, France, Lebanon, Mali, Syria), his research interests include various themes such as life projects, refugees, the dignity of the human person (especially the one receiving aid), psychosocial support to social workers. Having an interdisciplinary approach, I am interested in the process of reconstruction (with dignity and freedom) of the human person who has experienced adversity/trauma in life.

Mireille Malaket – Master’s Student (Québec/Canada)
Mireille Malaket holds a bachelor’s degree in environmental geography with a specialization in human environment and a diploma in specialized studies in social work. She is currently a master’s student in social work at the University of Montreal. Her thesis is centered on examining the challenges and opportunities in the start-up of the project “Femmes, genre, (im)mobilités et vies précaires” (Women, gender, (im)mobilities and precarious lives), for which she is currently working as a research assistant. With multiple experiences in social intervention in community and institutional settings in Quebec, including with migrant families and youth in schools and in socio-professional reintegration, her research interests include the experiences of migrant women in precarious situations in Quebec and Lebanon, transnational feminist solidarity, the plural identities of children of mixed couples, and nature and adventure-centered practices in social work.

Keywords: migrant women; transnational solidarity; feminist approaches; plural identities; psychosocial intervention through nature and adventure

Marilena Liguori – Master’s Student (Québec/Canada)

EN